Trapped

by thenonamepoet

I’m trapped.
In this classroom, but that doesn’t stop my mind
From running away to a far away land in
My imagination. Oh! What a sensation!
Illumination! Such elucidation!
I am no longer bound by facts and structure
I am free.
Free to wander these city streets
Free to wander the roads of Italy
Race in a Ferrari on the tracks in Sicily
Or admire paintings in Venice
Talk to the Pope in Rome
Or go to an Eagles game and yell
Or maybe just rap alone somewhere
Gone are these meddlesome restrictions
“There’s only one answer! Suits only, no jerseys!
Be cultured you primitive sports fan!”
If only they knew
The eloquent side of you
They’d never guess how often I write
Even if fancy food isn’t my kind of bite
Sure I don’t like suits
But wait, something is pulling me back in
I heard exam and due to fear, my dream’s dying
I want to go back to when I wasn’t trapped
I look but there’s no chance, that train of thought has snapped.